Your Compliance Edge

HR News Alerts

MA: New Law Raises Certain Employer Health Care Costs

Posted on September 06 2017 05:25 PM

EMAC Rate Increases and New Assessment Effective January 1, 2018

A new law in Massachusetts raises the Employer Medical Assistance Contribution Rate and creates a new employer assessment if employees meet certain criteria. Highlights of the law are presented below.

Employer Medical Assistance Contribution Rises to $77 Per Employee
Effective January 1, 2018, the Employer Medical Assistance Contribution (EMAC) rate is expected to rise from $51 to $77 per employee. Employers with 5 or fewer employees are not required to pay the EMAC contribution.

New Employer Assessment Is $750 for Each Employee Meeting Certain Criteria
Effective January 1, 2018, employers with 6 or more employees generally will be required to pay a $750 assessment for each employee who receives health insurance coverage through the Division of Medical Assistance or subsidized insurance through the Massachusetts Health Insurance Connector Authority. The manner in which the assessment is to be paid and the number of days that an individual will be required to receive such subsidized health care coverage to cause the assessment are expected to be addressed by the state Department of Unemployment Assistance in the coming months.

Click here to read the text of the law, which contains additional provisions and effective dates.

To review other laws specific to Massachusetts, visit the State Laws section, click on Massachusetts, and choose your topic of interest from the left-hand navigation menu.