Your Compliance Edge

HR News Alerts

Florida: Minimum Wage Rises to $8.25 Per Hour

Posted on October 16 2017 06:24 PM

New Rates Effective January 1, 2018

Florida has announced that the state minimum wage will rise to $8.25 per hour (from $8.10 per hour), effective January 1, 2018.

Also effective January 1, 2018, the state minimum wage will rise to $5.23 per hour for tipped employees who meet the eligibility requirements for the tip credit under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act.

Updated posters reflecting the new rates are available in English, Spanish, and Creole. Click here for more information.

To review other state laws specific to Florida, visit the State Laws section, click on Florida, and choose your topic of interest from the left-hand navigation menu.