Your Compliance Edge

HR News Alerts

New Hampshire Amends Wage Payment Timing Law

Posted on June 07 2018 05:14 PM

Amended Law Effective July 29, 2018

Under a new law, effective July 29, 2018, New Hampshire employers generally must pay wages within:

  • 8 days after the expiration of the work week if the employee is paid weekly; or
  • 15 days after the expiration of the work week if the employee is paid biweekly.

Prior to July 29, 2018, every employer generally must pay all wages due to employees at regular intervals not to exceed 14 days.

As a reminder, unless otherwise approved by the New Hampshire Department of Labor, New Hampshire employers must pay wages on a weekly or biweekly basis.

Click here to read the new law.

To review other laws specific to New Hampshire, visit the State Laws section, click on New Hampshire, and choose your topic of interest from the left-hand navigation menu.