Your Compliance Edge

Overtime Rates in Alaska (AK)

Alaska requires private employers with4 or more employees to pay overtime as follows:

  • Employees are entitled to overtime pay equal to 1 ½ times their regular rates of pay for work in excess of 8 hours per day or 40 hours per week, except for those employees who are specifically exempt by law including:
    • Those working in an executive, administrative, or professional capacity;
    • Outside salespersons;
    • Workers in agriculture, dairy, animal husbandry, fishery, and similar occupations;
    • Voluntary workers for nonprofit charitable or educational organizations;
    • Workers under flexible work hour plans as part of a collective bargaining agreement;
    • Cab drivers; and
    • Certain hospital workers and community health aides.

FREE Labor Law Penalties
by Company Size Chart

Alerts you to the penalties associated with key federal laws such as
COBRA and discrimination.



Download HR360


Request a Demo 

or Log In


Please Note: The state laws summaries featured on this site are for general informational purposes only. In addition to state law, certain municipalities may enact legislation that imposes different requirements. State and local laws change frequently and, as such, we cannot guarantee the accuracy or completeness of the information featured in the State Laws section. For more detailed information regarding state or local laws, please contact your state labor department or the appropriate local government agency.