Your Compliance Edge

Victim Leave in New Jersey (NJ) Leave for Victims of Domestic Violence and Sexually Violent Offenses Effective October 1, 2013, New Jersey employers who employ 25 or more employees are required to provide an eligible employee with up to 20 days of unpaid leave per year to attend to certain matters when the employee (or the employee's child, parent, spouse, domestic partner, or civil union partner) is a victim of domestic violence or a sexually violent offense. Eligible Employees To be eligible for leave, an individual must be employed for at least 12 months by a covered employer for not less than 1,000 base hours during the immediately preceding 12-month period. Reasons for Leave Under the law, eligible employees may take leave in the 12-month period following an incident of domestic violence or a sexually violent offense for the purposes of: Seeking medical attention for, or recovering from, physical or psychological injuries caused by the domestic or sexual violence to the victim; Obtaining services from a victim services organization or obtaining psychological or other counseling for the victim; Participating in safety planning, temporarily or permanently relocating, or taking other actions to increase the safety of the victim from future domestic or sexual violence or to ensure economic security; Seeking legal assistance or remedies to ensure the health and safety of the victim, including preparing for, or participating in, any civil or criminal legal proceeding related to or derived from the domestic or sexual violence; or Attending, participating in, or preparing for a criminal or civil court proceeding relating to the incident of domestic or sexual violence. Notice Requirements A covered employer must display conspicuous notice of its employees' rights and obligations under the law, in such form and in such manner as the Commissioner of Labor and Workforce Development will prescribe, and use other appropriate means to keep its employees informed.    If the need for leave is foreseeable, an employee must provide the employer with written notice prior to taking the leave. The notice must be provided to the employer as far in advance as is reasonable and practical under the circumstances. An employer may require appropriate documentation of the reason for leave.   Any information regarding the leave (including any required documentation provided to an employer) must be kept confidential. Interaction with Other Leave An eligible employee may elect, or an employer may require the employee, to use accrued paid vacation leave, personal leave, or medical or sick leave during any part of the 20-day period of unpaid leave. In such case, any paid leave provided by the employer, and accrued under the established policies of the employer, will run concurrently with the unpaid leave, and the employee will receive pay under the employer's applicable paid leave policy during the period of otherwise unpaid leave.    If an employee requests leave for a reason also covered by the New Jersey Family Leave Act or the federal Family and Medical Leave Act, the leave will count simultaneously against the employee's entitlement under each respective law.    


FREE Labor Law Penalties
by Company Size Chart

Alerts you to the penalties associated with key federal laws such as
COBRA and discrimination.

 

 

Download HR360

 

Request a Demo 

or Log In

 

Please Note: The state laws summaries featured on this site are for general informational purposes only. In addition to state law, certain municipalities may enact legislation that imposes different requirements. State and local laws change frequently and, as such, we cannot guarantee the accuracy or completeness of the information featured in the State Laws section. For more detailed information regarding state or local laws, please contact your state labor department or the appropriate local government agency.